Case-spiration: E17

Process Breakdown: How AI Produced a Real Case with Valid Citations

AI can writing ANYTHING you can think of BUT how good is it?

The Answer is YES, it can be as good as or better than your writing BUT, how do we do that? - Or why should we care?

I wanted to share a process that I continually undertake when I am writing with AI. It has turned into a habit over and over again. The process is as follows.

  1. Start with the end in mind and provide AI with an example of what you want - if you can

  2. Ask questions/give prompts to change small elements in the output building on each previous step

  3. Tinker with the various pieces of the output until you are happy

  4. And don’t forget - read, read and read more to verify and validate

It may sound simple or overly complex but if you do what I listed above, you will get a usable and sometimes amazing output with AI.

For this newsletter, I wrote a case study that could be used as a discussion topic or exam based case for a class. It is not a publishable piece in it’s current state but we could tinker more and adjust it as required by each institution.

Table of Contents

Prompt Sequence

The tools I used were the Case Creator - Click here to use it. and ChatGPT 4o.

  • Case Category: Education

  • Case Topic: nursing students and negative feedback impacts

  • Additional Instructions: make sure to add in figures and data as well as places for in text citations and references... WRITE IN AN ACADEMIC TONE

The generated case was then copied and pasted into ChatGPT 4o so that I could modify and create a usable final result.

The goal was to generate a case that was authentic, accurate and could be used for a case exam, discussion or topic in class.

The first version of the case generated was a great start for this project but I needed to use ChatGPT to then modify and refine the details and structure.

 

This is the prompt sequence and thought process that I went through

First Prompt in ChatGPT: give me the coles notes version

I did this so that I did not need to read the case initially. This was a quick solution to better understand what was written BUT if I was going to use this for an actual class activity or case exam, I would have read it thoroughly in each step.

Second Prompt: is this a real case?

I did this to see what the AI would say, sometimes the content of the case will actually be based on facts that are known by the AI model. I was merely checking to see if the AI thought it was a real factual scenario to start.

Third Prompt: how can we make it real... go find data and facts/information so we can make it real

Now that I know it was a fictitious case, I wanted to convert it into a real case or one that was based on facts/ data for authenticity. In general, this can be done in one of two simple ways, use an AI model that has access to the internet OR provide the mode with your own factual information that will then be used to craft the case.

Now let’s see the most important steps in the next few prompts…

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Case-spiration: Your AI Case Writing Resource to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.